To promote the appreciation of sailing and foster a community and culture committed to advancing both sailing and sailing education in the Juneau area.

Sailor Talk #1 - Southeast Cruising (Past & Future)

01/29/2015 - 18:00 to 20:00

The theme of the first Sailor Talk of the year is “Southeast Cruising (Past & Future)”. Several members will present their local trips to Southeast Alaska destinations such as Tenakee, Sitka, White Sulphur Hot Springs, the Outside Coast, Glacier Bay, Fords Terror, etc.

We'll also discuss plans for more cruising this season & beyond (Neka Hot Springs, Petersburg, Myers Chuck, etc.). 

All Good Things . . .

Leg One

Winds were very light early Saturday morning, and those at the pre-race Skippers Meeting discussed options for moving the start line up to Sheep Creek or Marmion in case it didn’t pick up enough to get the fleet out of Gastineau Channel. Optiminium served as Committee Boat and, finding around eight knots of breeze on the water, set the start line off Mayflower Island. Lyric-WR, Surprise, Thalia, and Tango all crossed over the line upwind on a starboard tack, favoring the Douglas Island, while Optiminium took a port tack towards the mainland and nabbed an early lead. As the boats neared Sheep Creek, Surprise crossed in front and would stay ahead out of the Channel, followed closely by Optiminium, Thalia, Lyric-WR, and then Tango.